Walking in Greenwich Village

A couple of weeks ago, I was walking in Greenwich Village, wandering around aimlessly. Looking at people and stores, suddenly I felt free. A feeling of a long time ago came back to me. When I was in high school or college, I like to go to a new city, or go to the mountains, just by myself, alone, one person. Just walk around, explore the space, feeling I am walking freely in my life, in this society. This is what I have. What have I enjoyed in my life? What I hold precious? I am not going to subscribe to any particular kind of philosophy or ideology, no matter how good or right it is. I am not going to be bound by rules, although I am very cautious with the consequence of every action I take. A long time ago, I was decided that everyone needs to have his/her own philosophy. This philosophy arises from one individual walking freely in the society, reflecting on his/her own life.

In every culture, moral standard is a big part (probably always the dominate part) of the culture. People are afraid of free-thinking people. They want to put rules on people. Quite often, those rules were made by people who never lived freely, or by people who had their own hidden agendas.  I don’t have moral standards. I discarded all of them a long time ago. I only have a bottom line principle: don’t hurt other people. If I can do that well, I will be very satisfied with myself. But even that is very hard. I am still trying my best.

When I was in China, I wanted to walk around China very much, just to explore various cultures and people, to explore the space and to understand the space. That is actually pretty much all my learning in my undergraduate is about: just to explore and understand the space I live in. I read a lot of books, newspapers, almost everything that I didn’t know and felt important to know. I did a lot of social activities, sold stuff on the street, promoted Internet in its early stage in China. What is the feeling? It feels like holding the whole world in my hand (quote).

I still want to walk around US. I am still working very hard to explore the space in the west.

Unfortunately, the very purpose of compulsory schooling is to strip you away the time you need to walk freely in society. By taking away people’s control of their own time, you can turn them into slaves. It is done by people in power, by people who feel superior because they are in power, by people who are themselves slaves of enslaving ideology. However, we are fighting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Business, Chan/Zen, unschooling, What is Learning

Leave a Reply

