On self-help books and regrowing consciousness

This might be a little cynical. But I think there is some truth in it. I am sure someone else have said the same thing about self-help books before.

What kind of people write self-help books? People who cannot accomplish anything else. Yes, if you cannot accomplish anything, you write self-help books. People who can really accomplish something are usually too busy to write a self-help book. And if they really want to write one for the sake of sharing experiences and helping other people, they will feel self-help books are too shallow. Furthermore, people who are successful are more likely to trust other people to figure out things by themselves. Only fundamental principles need to be discussed. And they might want to write in the domains they are successful in, and require real life experiences in those domains. But their books, once written, are beyond the comprehension of the readers who seek self-help books, thus cannot be put into the category of self-help books. Thus it seems self-help books are doomed to be shallow and general.

If some posts on this blog appear to be self-help in nature (Are they?), that is only because I have lost my consciousness once. As I am regaining my consciousness in this new culture, I feel the need to record the growth of my consciousness for the fear of losing it again. Thus in case I lose it again, I can use what I have recorded to help me regain it. Usually when people are growing their consciousness the first time in their original culture, they are just in a hurry to rush ahead in their lives. And as your consciousness is attached to the culture/social space you are in, there is no worry of losing it. Also when people are growing their consciousness for the first time, they usually are not aware of it, and thus cannot record. As I am growing my consciousness for the second time, I am very aware of it and thus able to record.

2 Comments

Filed under Culture, Foreign Experience

2 responses to “On self-help books and regrowing consciousness

  1. Jen

    But aren’t books on buddhism kind of like self-help books? Maybe the difference between a “fluff” self help book is that it claims to tell you what the solution is without the journey or self discovery and the “true” self help book just says, self help is work and this is the work that you have to do?

    dunno if this is relevant, but this post reminded of this scene in a childhood novel where the “wise” man tells the young hero going on a quest for self discovery that whatever life conclusions the kid comes up with may be stupid or unwise, but they will ultimately be more satisfying because they are his own.

  2. “whatever life conclusions the kid comes up with may be stupid or unwise, but they will ultimately be more satisfying because they are his own.”
    I agree with this very much. I think everyone should have his/her own philosophy.

Leave a Reply

